Walks Programme

Meeting point

The meeting point for each walk is either the Bridge Street Car Park in Newry just outside the gates of the Buttercrane Shopping Centre (opposite side of the road to The Quays), the Square, Castlewellan at 9:45am or the starting point for each walk (listed in the programme table below) before 10:30am.

The walks below involve climbing mountains of 600 metres (2000 feet) or more in height.  A good level of fitness is required as none of our walks can be regarded as suitable for beginners to hill walking.  Please refer to our FAQs and our Fitness sections.

What to wear? It is important that you wear the appropriate gear. The Leader can refuse to allow you on the walk if you do not have the basics.

Click here for our safety information

Please note that our leaders are volunteers who pay the same membership fee and who give of their expertise and time for the benefit, malady enjoyment and safety of all in the club.  Walkers are asked to cooperate with the leaders and to accept their advice and instruction during walks.

The walks below are sub-divided into three grades (Groups A, ailment B, or C). Click here for Walk Classification.  If this is your first time hill walking with us, we suggest you start off with the C group.

DateVenueStarting LocationAprés Walk
Sun 08/10/2017
Slieve Meelmore
Meelmore Lodge (J305 307)Betty Dorans
Sun 22/10/2017Slieve BinnianCarrick Little Car Park (J345 219)Harbour Inn Annalong
Sun 12/11/17Deserted VillageText of linkJohn Long's Pub Grange
Sun 26/11/2017Chimney RockText of linkO’Hare’s, Newcastle
Sun 10/12/17Slieve MartinKilbroney High Ca Park (J195 174)The Rostrevor Inn, Rostrevor
Tue 26/12/2017Slieve GullionSlieve Gullion CourtyardMurphys (Meigh)
Sun 14/01/2018Carn
Gamekeeper's Lodge (J284 214)Betty Doran's
Sun 28/01/2018
The Castle
The Lumpers (J101 108)lumpers
Sun 11/02/2018CommedaghDonard Car Park (J375 306)O Hare's Newcastle
Sun 25/02/2018Hen MountainRocky River Car Park (J233 277)Betty Dorans
Sun 11/03/2018Pigeon RockText of linkBetty Dorans
Sun 25/03/2018Slieve MeelmoreMeelmore Lodge (J305 307)Betty Dorans

All walks start at 10.30am